Five Hours Without Shade

I got very badly sunburned Thursday. But it was worth it.

 

I'm normally not one to get heavily into politics, and I don't need to attend a political rally to help me make up my mind. But this was just too much of an historical moment to pass up, so Pax & I headed out of Farmington at 5.30 Thursday morning, parked near the edge of Española, walked into town, stood in a huge line for about 2 hours, and then stood around a few more hours, occasionally listening to various politicians talk about why we should elect Barack Obama President of the United States. And then the man himself appeared and spoke for a while. Granted, it was one of those preaching-to-the-choir speeches that is big on enthusiasm and not so much on agenda details, but that's what we were all there for. And the official transcripts aren't going to mention that he interrupted his speech to make sure that a person who had fainted in the audience got prompt medical attention.

Y'know, I just generally don't like or trust politicians, so I'm fully aware that Obama isn't perfect. I worry about people who think he's going to work miracles if we put him in the White House. But there's something about this guy that makes me think he's going to make a good-faith effort to make things better, something that makes me hope that a politician can also be a basically good person. This is the first presidential election in which I've actually felt compelled to support a candidate instead of merely vote against the one I liked less.

Yes, I'm restricting comments on this post. I still hate discussing politics, even agreeably, so don't even bother trying to start a debate or conversation here. I will delete anything other than the most basic, innocuous statements.

Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Five Hours Without Shade

  1. Emjay says:

    Here is a basic, innocuous comment – it sounds like a great day out! :-)

  2. I can resonate with your post. That is kinda how I felt when I got to see him too. A little giddy, very excited, and really enjoying actually liking a candidate rather than choosing the lesser of two evils.Sorry about your sunburn…those can be a bitch…as my fair skin knows too well.

  3. Snowy says:

    But there's something about this guy that makes me think he's going to
    make a good-faith effort to make things better, something that makes me
    hope that a politician can also be a basically good person.I think you nailed it right there.

Leave a Reply

